Bombshell is a 2019 American biographical comedy-drama film directed by Jay Roach and written by Charles Randolph. The film stars Charlize Theron, Nicole Kidman, and Margot Robbie, and is based upon the accounts of several women at Fox News who set out to expose CEO Roger Ailes for sexual harassment. Actors John Lithgow, Kate McKinnon, Connie Britton, Malcolm McDowell, and Allison Janney appear in supporting roles.
The project was first announced in May 2017 following Ailes's death, with Roach confirmed as director the following year. Much of the cast joined that summer and filming began in October 2018 in Los Angeles. It entered into a limited release in the United States on December 13, 2019, before a wide release on December 20, by Lionsgate.
Bombshell received generally favorable reviews, with critics praising the performances of the cast (particularly of Theron, Kidman, Robbie, and Lithgow) and the makeup and hairstyling but some criticizing its screenplay and inaccuracies. At the 92nd Academy Awards, it earned three nominations: Best Actress (Theron), Best Supporting Actress (Robbie) and Best Makeup and Hairstyling. The film also received two nominations at the 77th Golden Globe Awards (for Theron and Robbie), four at the 26th Screen Actors Guild Awards (Theron, Robbie, and Kidman, as well as Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture) and three at the 73rd British Academy Film Awards (Theron, Robbie, and Best Makeup and Hair).

The film focuses on the stories of several female members of Fox News staff and their allegations about sexual harassment of founder Roger Ailes.

Charlize Theron as Megyn Kelly
Nicole Kidman as Gretchen Carlson
Margot Robbie as Kayla Pospisil, a fictional character
John Lithgow as Roger Ailes
Allison Janney as Susan Estrich
Kate McKinnon
Malcolm McDowell as Rupert Murdoch
Mark Duplass as Douglas Brunt
Alice Eve as Ainsley Earhardt
Brigette Lundy-Paine as Julia Clarke
Liv Hewson as Lily
Alanna Ubach as Jeanine Pirro
Elisabeth Röhm as Martha MacCallum
Spencer Garrett as Sean Hannity
Connie Britton as Beth Ailes
Ashley Greene as Abby Huntsman
Brooke Smith as Irena Brigante
Michael Buie as Bret Baier
Nazanin Boniadi as Rudi Bakhtiar
Bree Condon as Kimberly Guilfoyle
Rob delaney
Ahna O'Reilly as Julie Roginsky

Leave a Reply