Race Cars / 360 °

The FIA ​​Formula 1 World Championship, better known as Formula 1 or F1, is the top international racing competition and most popular and prestigious motor sport championship in the world. The entity that directs it is the International Automobile Federation (FIA). The Formula One Group is owned and operated by the American company Liberty Media since September 2016.
Each race is called the Grand Prix and the tournament that groups them is called the Formula 1 World Championship. Most of the race circuits where the Grand Prix are held are racetracks, although street circuits are also used and previously routed circuits were used . In turn, the cars used are single-seater with the latest technology available, always limited by a technical regulation; Some improvements that were developed in Formula 1 ended up being used in commercial cars, such as the disc brake.
The start of modern Formula 1 dates back to 1950, in which teams like Ferrari, Alfa Romeo and Maserati participated. Some were replaced by new ones such as McLaren, Williams, Red Bull and others who returned as Mercedes who have won several times with the World Constructors Championship. For their part, pilots must have the FIA ​​super license to compete, which is obtained on the basis of results in other championships.

The first Grand Prix was held on May 13, 1950 at the Silverstone circuit and was won by the Italian Giuseppe Farina, also getting the 1950 championship after beating his teammate, the Argentine Juan Manuel Fangio. However, Fangio won the title in 1951, 1954, 1955, 1956 and 1957. His streak was interrupted due to the two-time Ferrari driver Alberto Ascari. Also at this time were pilots like the British Stirling Moss who, although he was able to compete regularly, was never able to win the World Championship, and for that reason the English consider him “the greatest driver who ever won a world title.”
The period was dominated by the teams run by car manufacturers – Alfa Romeo, Ferrari, Maserati and Mercedes Benz – who had competed before the war. In the first seasons cars were used before the Second World War as the Alfa Romeo 159. They had a front engine, 1.5 liters of supercharged displacement or 4.5 liters of natural aspiration and tires with drawing. The 1952 and 1953 world championships were held under the regulations of Formula 2, with smaller and less powerful cars, due to the small number of available cars of Formula 1. When the Formula 1 World Championship was restored, the engines were limited to 2.5 liters; In 1954, Mercedes introduced the advanced W196, which included innovations such as demodromic distribution and fuel injection, as well as a stylized body. Mercedes won the drivers' championship two consecutive years (1954 and 1955), before retiring from all car competitions, after the Le Mans disaster in 1955.

Leave a Reply



Walk among giant forests | 360 °

Soundclash / 360°